NEW! Official release information for Antipope "Apostle of Infinite Joy" CD added below!

  • White Spotify Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Bandcamp Icon

Antipope is:

Mikko Myllykangas - Vocals, lead & rhythm guitar

Antti Karjalainen - Lead and rhythm guitar

Tuska E. - Drums

Joni Tauriainen - Bass guitar

                In 2019, Antipope joined the Fertile Crescent community, ready to release their 5th full-length recording on CD – “Apostle of Infinite Joy". Antipope effectively sweeps progressive rhythms wrapped in gothic doom towards the aggressive edges of black and death metal, making for delighted fans of all heavy metal genres. As main composer Mikko Myllykangas once embellished upon the Antipope sound and style, "It is metal, for sure, but that's pretty much all you need to know. Would more words make you feel safer? We don't want you to feel safe.” This perspective resonates through the diverse nature of Antipope.

                Prior, this group of talented musicians had been labeled as "progressive black metal", which Fertile Crescent has deemed to be completely lacking as a descriptive label for the full-bodied, eclectic compositions which they create. Simply described, Antipope are occult melodic heavy metal that is unrestricted by the confines of subgenres. To pin these maestros as any single sound would be a great disservice to their works of art. Also proof of this eclectic nature, Antipope have shared several stages in Finland over the years with world renowned acts, such as Enochian Crescent, Hebosagil, Betrayal, and Baptism. While there are no live shows currently planned, Fertile Crescent is informed that future performances are in the works!
                “For us, our music is just heavy metal with an occult twist," explains Mikko. "Our lyrics discuss 'self-realization in an esoteric, metaphoric sense', 'conflict between who you truly are and what is expected of you'; hence the name 'Antipope'." The arrangement known as Antipope was born out of a black metal project called "Tuska" ('pain/agony' in Finnish), active between 1998 and 2001. Since their 2004 establishment, in Oulu, Finalnd, Antipope have composed several full-length albums, EP's and singles. After releasing their 3rd album (3 Eyes of Time), Antipope announced that they would go into a non-active state. In the autumn of 2016, after three years on hiatus, they announced that work on the 4th full length album had been resumed and it was released the following year. Since 2004, Antipope has released 4 full-length compositions; House of Harlot (2011) & 3 Eyes of Time (2013) were released on Violent Journey Records and Desert (2010) & Denial/Survival (2017) are independently published.

                Antipope are also well known for their unique and independently produced music videos, the most recent (“Waters Below” from the album Denial/Survival) has gained 2.3K views in only 4 months! Recently unveiled were several teasers for the upcoming release. Brief and mysterious, we are all left eagerly awaiting what is to come in 2020! View the videos here on Antipope's YouTube. Be sure to subscribe to the YouTube channel and watch videos as Antipope publishes them.
                As the new year comes into view, Fertile Crescent Productions are told that there is much more in store for listeners from these Finnish masters. Keep a watchful eye for what is to come from Antipope and Fertile Crescent Productions in 2020!

Release date: Feb. 21st, 2020


Track Listing:

1. Harbinger of Dawn

2. Natural Born Heretic

3. Intoxicating Darkness

4. Apostle of Infinite Joy

5. Red Goddess

6. Venereal Ritual for Dispersion and Reintegration of the Soul

7. Serpent of Old

8. 0=2

    “Apostle of Infinite Joy” is focused on an Aleister Crowley-like figure; an individual "who just refuses to bow down to contemporary political/ideological figures of authority". This is Antipope's 5th full-length recording and contains 8 full-bodied tracks of moody, yet straightforward heavy metal in the vein of early 1990’s Scandinavian dark musicianship. Antipope effectively sweeps progressive rhythms wrapped in gothic doom towards the aggressive edges of black and death metal, making for delighted fans of all heavy metal genres. “Apostle of Infinite Joy” is loaded with gothic shade coherently balanced within traditional metal elements!

   Mikko (vocals, guitars) describes the album by stating that "pieces just fell into their right places better than ever before. At least part of the reason is in the line-up changes, as since Joni joined us as a bass player we have really strong line-up to send into battle. Our old fans will find familiar mixture of melodies and madness, but this album rises to higher spheres and descents further down the circles of Hell than any previous work by us."